Calendar 3 icon


Event postponed

Time clock circle icon


3 Days

Pin location 1 icon


UNSW Sydney

Governing body


About the 12th APCPT Workshop on Multiferroics

This conference has been postponed. A new date will be announced in due course.

The field of multiferroic physics and materials has become one of the most rapidly developing areas in condensed matter research in the past years. The compatibility between ferroelectricity and magnetism, multiferroic domain engineering, electromagnon excitation and manipulation, and artificial multiferroic heterostructures etc. are several hot topics that have been investigated in recent years. Recent additions include multiferroic van der Waals materials and topological defects such as domain walls and skyrmions in multiferroics. Useful applications of multiferroics require that both magnetoelectric coupling is significant and the ordering temperatures are high. While advances have been made in making new compounds, characterization, theoretical modeling and understanding the underlying physical mechanisms, further improvements are necessary to achieve the ultimate goal of room temperature multiferroics with strong magnetoelectric coupling.

  • The 12th APCTP Workshop on Multiferroics will bring together leading researchers in the fields of magnetism, ferroelectrics, spintronics, topological structures and correlated electron systems and is intended to serve as a catalyst for the development of new concepts in multiferroics that go beyond current knowledge.


Registration for the conference is not yet available. Please refer back to this page in due course.

Organizing Committee

Jan Seidel, UNSW (Chair)
Nagy Valanoor, UNSW
Claudio Cazorla, UNSW
Clemens Ulrich, UNSW
Pankaj Sharma, UNSW

Contact Cecilia Bloise for any further information. 

Plenary Speakers

Sang-Wook Cheong, Rutgers University
Ramamoorthy Ramesh, University of California, Berkeley

Invited Speakers

Tsuyoshi Kimura, University of Tokyo
Junming Liu, Nanjing University
Junling Wang, Nanyang Technological University
Chan-Ho Yang, Korea Advanced Institute of Science and Technology
Shigeo Mori, Osaka Prefecture University
Satoru Hayami, University of Tokyo
Daniel Khomskii, Universität zu Köln
Ying-Hao (Eddie) Chu, National Chiao Tung University
Jing Ma, Tsinghua University
Hung-Duen Yang, National Sun Yat-Sen University
Di-Jing Huang, National Synchrotron Radiation Research Center
Yoon Hee Jeong, Postech
Yoon Seok Oh, UNIST
Menghao Wu, Huazhong University of Science and Technology
Chungang Duan, East China Normal University
Myung-Geun Han, Brookhaven National Laboratory
Zhenxiang Cheng, University of Wollongong
Maxim Mostovoy, University of Groningen
Yachin Ivry, Technion